HomeProject ChatHelp with Katia Memory Cabled Pullover Please!
Messages in this topic - RSS
2/3/2011 2:46:01 PM
dmannarino
dmannarino
Posts 11
The yarn is on sale at Elann and the pattern is in the free section. The yarn hasn't gotten here yet, but did download the pattern and looked it over. I am a novice at sweaters, have only made a few, mostly I knit a lot of lace and thought I knew what i was doing, but am fairly confused with this pattern. Hope I don't sound too idiotic! I keep thinking the answer is probably simple and I'm just not seeing it.

The pattern guage is 20 rows = 4" in reverse stockinette. Start by knitting a fairly wide waistband, and pick up along the edge to start the body of the sweater, and knit 8" before beginning armhole shaping.

The back is knit in reverse stockinette for 8", so that would be 40 rows.

The front is a cable and rib pattern, and the pattern repeat is 38 rows. The instructions say to repeat the pattern twice, then repeat the last two rows only of the pattern until reaching 8" before beginning armhole shaping (actually it says 16" but I'm assuming that's an error). So we have at least 76 rows.

As I said, I am not really experienced with sweaters, am I misreading this or are there patterns where the number of rows on one side are nearly double the other side? Especially when one side is heavily patterned? I thought maybe there was a misprint and they meant to only repeat the pattern once, but I enlarged the picture and it does appear the pattern is done twice. Then I thought maybe there was a misprint on the back instructions and they meant to knit 16", but the schematics show 8" between the waistband and the arms, and in the picture the sweater doesn't appear to be that long.

Any insight would really be appreciated, thanks so much.
2/3/2011 5:03:19 PM
Alice Trueman
Alice Trueman
Posts 1784
Gauge is 14 stitches and 20 rows = 4" in stocking stitch (or reverse stocking stitch).