HomePrevious Website ChatDemographic curiosity
Messages in this topic - RSS
6/16/2003 4:50:56 PM
Darla
Darla
Posts 181
I am the only knitter I know. I`m from a town of 3000 so there is no knitting shop or knitting guild. I know there must be other people who knit because the magazines disappear from the shelves of our General Store, but I`ve never met anyone. I find that nonknitters are very curious about my knitting. I`m 39 and I`m an accountant by trade, but I`m home with my young children. I have four of those aged 5,7,9,11. I learned to knit at a knitting class when I was 23 and we lived in a larger city. My only other major hobby is running. No one in my family knits although my Grandmother who passed away before I was born was said to knit more than she cooked or cleaned (yeah Grandma!).

I`m very curious about other knitters. Anyone else?
6/16/2003 8:01:12 PM
Hi! Small town knitting blues here too. :-( No LYS, no fun groups or guilds and practically no one else who knits. The mags don`t even go off the shelves here because no one carries them. When I ask stores if they would cary them they say, "You`re the only one one who`s ever asked". Ditto for knitting books. Mail order is my middle name. sigh

I`m 38 and at home with my four young kids too. :-) You seem to be on the "two year plan", well I`m on the "three year plan". Mine are 10, 6, 3 and 4 months. They`re all 3 calendar years apart.

I have taught a knitting class at my church and I have taught a couple of women to crochet but haven`t created a monster like myself yet, unfortunately. I just taught someone to crochet this evening. I`m hoping she gets the yarn bug!

My hobbies are knit, crochet and cross stitch. I am the very first knitter ever in my family but I come from a long line of crocheters. They all think I`m nuts but sure don`t mind when I make them something. ;-)
6/17/2003 7:41:25 AM
ecasey
ecasey
Posts 2668
Hi Darla! [and Tam :-) ]