HomeGeneral ChatEXCITING NEWS!
Messages in this topic - RSS
6/25/2010 7:59:21 AM
ecasey
ecasey
Posts 2668
I am now a professional designer!

About.com just hired me to be a contributing writer in their Knitting topic, and I am in charge of the subtopic of knitting design. My job, literally, is to design knitwear and they publish my patterns. One design a week - eek! But at the yarn store I would design about 6 or 7 patterns a week, so I know I can get in the zone and do it.

I googled "knitting" and about.com is the very first site that comes up - I'm so excited about that! I could never get publicity like that for my work!

It's salaried too - $500 a month (not a lot, but it's supposed to be only part-time about 5-10 hours per week), plus commission for web-traffic generated. The application process was quite intensive - after submitting a resume, you then had to write an article. Then I was short-listed and assigned to an editor to work with to submit 4 pattern designs over the course of a month. Then after his edits were incorporated, the patterns were sent for review to the editor in chief and the knitting Guide for their decision. Only about 10% of applicants get picked, I'm told, so I am OVER THE MOON!

--
"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the STARS!" (Oscar Wilde)
6/25/2010 9:47:25 AM
Marta
Marta
Posts 2140
Congratulations!!! I can't wait to see your work getting the credit it deserves! I mean, big public-at-large credit - of course around here we are lucky to have been able to admire it.
6/25/2010 3:10:37 PM
kellygirl
kellygirl
Posts 1405
Congratulations! Sounds like a wonderful opportunity for you to show off your skilz! I can't wait to see your first article!
6/26/2010 6:22:27 AM
patw
patw
Posts 2826
Congratulaltions! I feel like we have had the privilege of watching you evolve in your knitting here at Elann and your struggle for citizenship. I can't wait to read your first article. Way to go Casey.
PatQOC
6/26/2010 8:29:06 AM
benne